Pick-Ups and Give-Aways are some of the best features NurseGrid offers! In just a few taps, you can drop a shift or pick one up.
Give Away a Shift
To give away a shift, tap the shift you'd like to give away on your Calendar screen. Then, on the Shift Details screen, simply select Swap or Give Away.
You'll be taken to the Create Give Away screen, where you can select colleagues to offer the shift to, just make sure to select Give Away – you'll know you've selected it when it turns blue.
On the bottom of the screen you'll see colleagues who can work this shift. Select as many colleagues as you'd like to send the shift to. If you want to send it to all available colleagues, don’t select anyone from the Colleagues Who Can Work This Shift section – just hit Send in the top-right corner.
Once you press Send, your coworkers will receive a notification that a new shift is available to be picked up. Once someone picks it up, you'll be notified in your Activity Feed and then you can approve or deny the pick-up.
Pro-tip: if you're not sure your colleague saw the pick-up request, send them a NurseGrid message to remind them!
Pick Up a Shift
When a shift give-away has been sent to you, you'll be notified in your Activity Feed in NurseGrid. To respond, just tap the opportunity and press Respond or Decline. Once you've responded, the colleague giving away the shift will be notified and can choose to accept or decline the pick-up.
If the offering colleague accepts your pick-up, you'll be notified and the shift will be added to your calendar automatically.
If the offering colleague declines your pick-up, it will remain open to other coworkers but you will no longer be able to pick up the shift.