Syncing NurseGrid with Android Devices & Google Calendar

To sync with an Android or Google Calendar device, tap the gear icon on your Calendar tab to reach the Calendar Options screen. Underneath the "Calendar Sharing" heading, find Google Calendar Sync and tap the toggle to the right. Then, when the gray popup shows, select which Google calendar you want to sync and tap "OK."

android sync 1 android sync 3

If you're unable to sync your calendar through this mechanism, toggle on Enable Calendar Sharing, then tap "Share NurseGrid Calendar." Select a message or email, or "Copy to Clipboard" from your device's options. If you sent the link to yourself, open the message in your messaging or email app and copy the URL provided. Navigate to https://www.google.com/calendar on your desktop computer and log into the Google account your Android device is connected to. On the left-side menu, find "Other Calendars," then click the drop-down arrow on the right. Select "Add by URL" from the drop-down menu and paste the calendar URL you copied earlier. Finally, click "Add Calendar." The calendar will now appear on the left side of your screen under "Other Calendars."

android sync 2

If these steps do not enable your shifts to sync correctly after 12 hours, we recommend following our resyncing instructions. Below are step-by-step instructions on how to do this. You'll want to use the computer web browser version of Google calendar instead of the app, as the Google calendar app currently has no option to unsubscribe from a calendar.

  1. First, go to NurseGrid and tap the gear icon on your calendar. Switch off the "Enable Calendar Sharing" and "Google Calendar Sync" toggles.
  2. On Google Calendar, go to the settings for the NurseGrid calendar by clicking on the little downward arrow to the right of the calendar and pressing "Calendar Settings." Scroll all the way down and click "Unsubscribe."
  3. Back in the NurseGrid app, turn the "Enable Calendar Sharing" and "Google Calendar Sync" toggles back on.
  4. Select the Google account you'd like to sync with

Need to revoke someone's access to your shared calendar? Tap "Reset NurseGrid Calendar Link" at the bottom of the Calendar Options screen.

Related Articles: